What’s Your Tagline?

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about what message I’m sending to my customers, and how that might contrast with what I want it to be.  Companies spend a lot of money trying to craft that message  – I’ll call it their tagline – in hopes that people see them as they want to be seen.  Mercedes’ newest slogan is “The Best or Nothing”, which I like.  It effectively says “We didn’t show up here to finish in second place, because second place might as well be last place”.  It’s cocky, for sure, but delivers a powerful message.

Have you thought about your personal tagline?  I’m not talking about some cheesy motto or a worthless mission statement.  I mean the distilled, refined version of who you are and how you want to be perceived by your customers, colleagues, and competitors. It’s a worthwhile exercise, because once you decide what your slogan is, you can use it to validate your actions and keep you on track.

Incidentally, mine is “Radically Over Deliver”, which I borrowed from a Seth Godin blog months ago.  I’m not there yet, but at least I’ve got a beacon that helps me keep the ship righted.  Any action I take (or decision I make) can be measured against that tagline and gives me clarity of purpose.  Don’t have a tagline yet?  Well, as the Avett Brothers sing, “Decide what to be, and go be it.”

2 Responses to “What’s Your Tagline?”

  1. sha dizal Says:

    My tag line is “get to work home slice”

    Sitting here with Jerry Stamp looking at your blog

  2. The Sales Cycle Continuum « Intelligent Selling Says:

    […] Sales Cycle Continuum By IntelligentSelling A week or so ago, I posted a blog on Tag Lines, in which I shared my personal motto to “radically over deliver”.  Once you have a tag […]

Leave a Reply

