What Blog Posts Can Teach You About Sales

I’ve learned some valuable lessons over the course of the last 6 months or so while writing this blog.  Oddly enough, these lessons are applicable in the world of sales, and in many ways, life.  Here are 5 that jump out:

1.  Your Message Doesn’t Always Get Through – People are busy, and sometimes they don’t read your emails, even though they’ve given you permission to market to them.  So don’t take it personally, just stay politely persistent and relevant.

2.  The Subject Line Matters – I spend a fair amount of time picking the title of my blogs.  The goal is to compel people to read on, to take the next step.  I think it’s important to distill your message in sales, particularly if you’re trying to attract new customers.  Put some thought into it and be succinct.

3.  Your Product Isn’t For Everybody – When I started the blog, I sent out an email to a handful of people to let them know what I was doing.  To my surprise, a few of my friends and colleagues didn’t subscribe…or even reply.  Some prospects, even those that are a perfect fit for your solution, won’t buy, and won’t take a meeting, no matter what you do.  You can’t be everything to everybody, so accept that fact and move on.

4.  You Will Not Hit a Home Run Every Time – More often than not, my blog entries turn out to be base hits, or worse – strike outs.  You must be content with the day-to-day grind, the practice and the preparation.  Sales is 10% presentations and closing big deals, and 90% hard work that makes those extraordinary moments possible.  Reggie Jackson hit 563 home runs, but struck out more than any other player in Major League Baseball history.

5.  Being Persistent and Consistent Is Rewarding – With one exception, I’ve published every Tuesday and every Friday of every week since I started the blog 6 months ago….49 posts (including this one).    It hasn’t gotten any easier (in fact it is now incrementally harder to improve, see this graph for an explanation), but that consistency has paid off in feedback and followers.  It isn’t hard to draw a sales analogy here….being reliable is probably your customer’s # 2 desired trait (in you, the sales person), behind having integrity.

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “What Blog Posts Can Teach You About Sales”

  1. Paul DeMore Says:

    Matt –

    I have enjoyed your thoughts and comments over the past few months. I have read 90% of them and think about it for a few days. I am still trying to decide what my tag line should be. The only tme I do not read them is when I have been traveling and need to get through a ton of emails and I delete it…..
    Keep it up. I look for them around 8:30 T & F

  2. IntelligentSelling Says:

    Thanks…I think. Delete it? That’s harsh. How about just save it for later?

    Read any good books lately?

  3. Paul DeMore Says:

    That is what I meant. I save it later in my delete file..: >

Leave a Reply

